Another long run

Tonight Mary and I ran another long run.  Mary’s goal was to run the 6.5 miles between our house and my parent’s house.  My goal was to run 13 miles from our house to my parent’s house and then back.  The truth is that I was hoping to beat my previous distance record of 15 miles from last week.

Mary and I ran the first 6.5 miles together.  My parent’s were waiting with water for us, which was a wonderful thing.  Our time for the first leg was about 1 hour and 10 minutes.  Mary decided to run a little bit longer and ran for an additional .6 miles finishing her run tonight with 7.1 miles in about 1 hour and 20 minutes.

I continued back to our house.  I felt pretty good.  My left foot was bothering me again just like last week but it wasn’t enough to stop me from running.  It took me approximately an additional 1 hour and 5 minutes to finish my initial goal of 13 miles.  I decided to run the loop.  In fact I was hoping to run the loop twice to get a total of 17 miles.  17 miles was not to be tonight.  I was extremely thirsty, my legs were on fire, and I was starting to get light headed.  In addition it was starting to get a little too dark so I called it a night finishing up 15 miles in 2:40:29.  This might be slower than last week but I’m really not sure because I didn’t use my stopwatch last week.

Leave a Reply

