This week in running…

On Tuesday night I bought new sneakers.  On Wednesday I went for a 3.2 mile run to be certain that I liked them.  The sneakers felt great.  By that I mean that I really didn’t notice them at all.  I didn’t have knee pain or any other discomfort.  Probably because it was much cooler outside than I’m used to I ended up running rather quickly.  My time was about 25 minutes.  I can’t remember the exact time but that number is close.

I wanted to get a long run in before vacation but I ended up not being able to do that because of time.  To be fair I could have made time for a long run but I didn’t.  I slept in this morning instead of getting up to run.  I justified that because I’ll be getting very little sleep tomorrow.  By the time I was up and had breakfast I had about 1 hour of time that I could devote to running.  I decided to run the Rowe Quater (6.5 miles between my house and my parents’ house).  It was cool, dry, and sunny with the temperature in the mid 60s.  Since I had little time to spare and because the weather was so nice I was able to run quickly.  I finished the Rowe Quarter in 54:25!  That is the fastest that I’ve run for a 6.5 mile distance by far.  My pace was 8:37.  This is comparable to my pace for the Boilermaker (8:45).  The Boilermaker is longer but there were water stops, bands, and people cheering which helps a lot.  There were no crowds this morning but I did see 4 runners.  Anyhow, this was a very good time for me.

Leave a Reply

