2 runs, one bad and one OK

It’s been nearly two weeks since I ran.  Mary and I went to Hawaii (a trip report and pictures are in the works, stay tuned!) and although i brought my running sneakers I never did find the time to run.  I didn’t find time to get to a weight room or to touch my computer.  So it was a successful vacation.  :).

Shortly before leaving Hawaii I came down with a cold.  When I got home the cold got worse.  I dealt with the jet-lag from the 6 hour time difference and a fairly nasty cold.  Finally, this past Monday I was healthy enough to run.  I expected that the run would be very easy because they weather here has been very cool and my legs had rested for about 2 weeks.  I was wrong.

The run started out good but after about 3/4 of a mile my knee started to tighten up.  This isn’t anything uncommon but I usually get more mileage before my knee tightens and I wasn’t expecting any issues on a short 3.2 mile run.  I hadn’t stretched prior to the run so I stopped and stretched my leg.  This helped but the pain came back.  The pain continued to increase in intensity.  Stretching wasn’t effective after a while.  I ended up turning off my stop watch and doing an awful lot of walking before I made it back home.  When I got home I stretched well.  I was disappointed and worried because the Rochester Half Marathon is only 3 weeks away!  I was afraid that I wouldn’t be able to get my mileage up before the race.

The next night (Tuesday) I decided to try again, this time streching out well prior to the run.  I set out in great running weather.  My knee was fine until about 1.5 miles.  It wasn’t as bad as the night before but I knew the pain would grow.  I stretched and continued with worry.  I started focusing on my form and noticed that I wasn’t really letting my toes fall towards the road as they moved behind me.  I made a conscious effort to let my feet relax.  I decided to run through the pain.  I’m glad that I did because, unlike the prior night, the pain subsided.  I hope the reason for the pain was my “tense foot” running style.  I finished the 3.2 miles in 26:45 which is about what I expect when I’m not pushing myself.

Leave a Reply

