A new personal record

Last night I ran the Rowe Quarter, the 6.5 miles between my house and my parents house.  Before the run I was worried that my knee would become painful during the run.  I had encountered knee pain on my previous two runs which were much shorter than this one.  I didn’t do any running on Wednesday and did a lot of stretching prior to this run.  I even stretched on Wednesday!

It was about 65 degrees out when I started at about 7:10pm.  The weather was perfect for running.  It was cool, but not cold, not humid, and the sun was going down.  I felt like I was flying but I didn’t feel tired and my lungs were good.  It seemed like I could run as fast as I wanted and not have to rest.

About 1.5 miles into the run I was forced to wait for a train to pass.  I had to wait for only 45 seconds which is an incredibly short train.  I was very happy that I didn’t have to wait long because I really felt great.  That was the only rest I took on the run and I only took it because I was forced to.
While running this familiar, and rather rural route I had one girl honk her horn and crane her neck around to see me.  I was very surprised to have this happen on this route.

After 53 minutes and 53 seconds of running I reached my parents house and helped my Dad with his computer.  That’s an 8:17 pace!  It’s even more amazing to me when I consider that I had to stand and wait for 45 seconds.  On the other hand I got 45 seconds of rest and stretching time.  …Oh, and no knee pain!

Leave a Reply

