Oh so many runs!

It’s been a while since I’ve posted my runs. I’ve been running but I’ve been very busy and not posting.

My runs for the last couple of weeks are (all on the treadmill):

  • 11/1 I ran 2 miles in about 18 minutes
  • 11/2 I ran 6 miles and I don’t know how long it took. I think in the neighboorhood of 55 minutes
  • 11/5 I ran 20 miles! It took me 3 hours and 40 minutes to do this
  • 11/7 I ran 7 miles in about 1:03
  • 11/9 I ran 7 miles in about 1:07:30
  • 11/12 I ran 7-8 miles in something over an hour I think.
  • 11/14 (today) I ran 4 miles in 35 minutes

My run on 11/12 was on a treadmill that I was unfamiliar with. I accidentally pulled the stop key and I hadn’t looked at the display in at least 20 minutes so I didn’t have a good idea as to how far I had run or how long it had taken me. I’m certain I ran more than 7. I think it was between 7.5 and 8 miles but I’ll never know.

I’ve learned a few things in the last couple of weeks. Most importantly I’ve learned that my new running shoes are behind my shins splints. As much as it kills me to spend more money I’m going to buy a new pair of my old sneakers. My old sneakers, that my sister bought me, are Mizuno Wave Elixrs. My new sneakers, which I bought, are Mizuno Wave Rider 9s. I do not like the Wave Riders. My foot slides around in the shoe no matter how I tie the laces and no matter what socks I wear with it. It’s just not worth dealing with the shin pain.

I’ve also learned what “bonking” is. I bonked hard on the 20 mile run. I felt GREAT for at least 16 miles. After that it wasn’t great but it wasn’t bad. During mile 19 it started getting bad. Mile 20 was nearly impossible. I WALKED TWICE in the last mile. I would have thought that I could have toughed it out for the last mile but I could not do it. The only other times I walked were at mile 7 to eat, mile 12 to eat, and at each hour because I was forced to reset the treadmill. This was the longest I’ve ever run both in both time and distance. I have 2 more 20 mile runs planned before the race but nothing longer than that. On that last 20 mile run I hope that I can run it with the confidence that I have for 13-15 miles right now. If I can do that I won’t be nearly as worried about the marathon.

Leave a Reply

