My best run in the 8 mile range EVER!

On Tuesday night I had the best run I’ve had in a range of around 8 miles.

Before the run I had to move some furniture at home. I was already tired and moving furniture didn’t help. By the time I was ready to go to the gym the only thing I wanted to do was go to sleep. I couldn’t do that because I have a training plan to follow that called for an 8 mile run.

I stretched out and hopped on the treadmill with low expectations. I could have fallen asleep while I was stretching. I put my towel over the display as I always do so I do not get discouraged by my (lack of) distance. I ran and I pretty much zoned out. I didn’t really watch TV and I didn’t really listen to the music I had playing. I just ran, and it felt good. It felt good enough that I decided to bump up my pace a bit.

I ran for a full 30 minutes without looking at the display. This was a mental victory for me. I always fight the urge to look because when I do I am usually disappointed that I have not gone as far as I expected. The treadmill shutting down after 30 minutes was a pleasant surprise especially since I had run much faster than I typically do. I started the treadmill back up at the same pace that I had been running and continued on.

During the second half hour I broke down and looked at the display before the half hour mark. This time I was very surprised because I had gone almost 3/4 of a mile farther than I had expected! I was running fast and I still felt great. I wasn’t tired anymore.

The best part of the run was mile 8. Since I felt so good I decided to try to do a very fast paced final mile. Usually I sprint for the last tenth or 2 tenths of a mile. I set the pace and ran. It wasn’t easy but I did it. I increased the pace further for the last couple tenths of a mile. I finished the 8th mile in 7:15! As far as I know I’ve never run 7 miles and then run a 7:15 mile. For all I know I may have never run a faster mile in my life. I may have run a faster mile during the Boilermaker right after I reached the peak of the hill on the golf course.

This 8 mile run took only 1:11:00 and I the last mile was completed in 7:15. That’s an 8:53 mile pace. Considering that the treadmill had to be started 3 times (at the start, at 30:00, and at 60:00) with at least a 30 second time period where it comes up to speed I probably would have been much faster on the road.

Leave a Reply

