Let the taper begin!

My next 20+ mile run is the Walt Disney World Marathon!

Last week I had some good runs and some bad runs. On Tuesday I ran 5 miles in about 43 minutes. That was a good run. It felt good and I ran it quickly. On Thursday I ran another 5 miles in 43:30. That was not as good of a run. My time was good but I didn’t feel good running it.

Sunday was the big day. On Sunday I ran my third 20 mile run. I got up early to do the run but still didn’t manage to get on the treadmill until 9:30 in the morning. I was tired, I had a bad headache, and I really didn’t feel like running. Mary and I brought the third Harry Potter movie, The Prisoner of Azkaban as well as The Pacifier.

After only four miles I lost the mental battle and peeked at the display. I thought I had gone 5 or 5.5 miles when I had gone only 4. After 5 miles I was tired. That was bad. That was very bad.

In the days leading up to Sunday I had gotten into my head that I could finish 20 miles in 3 hours flat. To meet this goal I set my pace higher than I have done for any distance run on a treadmill. I set the pace at 6.4 miles per hour. Since I wasn’t feeling good to start with I believe it was a serious mistake to set the pace that high. Another mistake was that I ate too much at breakfast. I ate a medium sized bowl of cereal and a cookie.

As hard as it was I maintained the 6.4 mph pace for most of the run. It was tiring and I did walk multiple times sometimes for as long as 3 minutes. I finished in 3:14:14 which is about 8 minutes faster than my previous 20 mile treadmill PR (out of 3 20 mile treadmill runs).

And now the taper begins! My longest run until the marathon is a measly 12 miler.

Leave a Reply

