It's so cold!

My calendar says that it’s April but I think it is lying to me. It’s far too cold outside to be April. I’d like to get outside and run because the treadmill is boring (in comparison) and it seems like my shin problems are worse on the treadmill than on the road. This weather if getting me down!

Even though it was a bit chilly out I did get out to do some running. I ran the 2 mile loop this past Tuesday in 19 minutes. The loop is 2 miles but there is an additional two-tenths of a mile that are involved. That’s about an 8:40 pace which isn’t very fast for a distance of two miles even for a slower runner like myself. I wasn’t trying to run it too quickly though. I’m trying to ramp up my mileage slowly so that I don’t destroy my shins anymore than I already have. I considered this a recovery run. I didn’t run it fast but I didn’t really run it slowly either. It felt great to be outside again. I had forgotten what it was like running the smaller hills on this loop.

Later in the week, Friday I think, I ran another 2 miles. This time I ran it on a treadmill. I believe that I ran that in about 19 minutes as well but I can’t remember anymore. After this run my shins hurt — not a lot, but enough to annoy me.

I’ve pretty much had all I can take with these stupid shins of mine. The problem doesn’t seem nearly as severe when I run on the roads but the weather is making that difficult for me. On Sunday I decided to try running outside even though it was snowing at the time. I threw on two tech shirts, some asics gloves, and my running shorts. My goal was to do 6 miles so I set out to run the 3 mile loop twice.

It was cold. It was very cold. My legs went slightly numb. It was also very windy and it felt like the wind was in my face regardless of the direction I was running. The gloves were great and the shirts kept me reasonably warm but my legs were a bit chilly. After a little more than 3 miles I finally felt “warmed up” and the run got a lot better from there. I picked up the pace a bit for the second half. I ended up finishing the 6.2 miles in 54:24. I was trying to get a pretty good time but it wasn’t easy with the weather working so hard against me. Still I’m pleased with my pace of 8:46. I’m also glad I finally ran in the cold. While I didn’t like it as muh as when it’s warmer out it wasn’t as bad as I imagined it would be.

My left shin is fine but my right shin is very tender. I’m going to keep an eye on it but I’m hopeful that getting back on the road will eventually cure my shin issues.

Leave a Reply

