2 Head Turns, 1 Runner, 2 Phantom Road Kills

Last week…and I can’t remember what day anymore but I think it was Tuesday…I ran a short long run.  A what?!  I ran 10.1 miles instead of 13.  I ran the 3 mile loop, the Rowe Quarter, and a .6 mile loop near my fan club’s headquarters.  It was hot so I took a ton of powerade but I forgot to bring water.  It was warm outside so the water would have been nice to pour on myself but I forgot it.

Along the way I had two girls do very obvious head turns.  One pretty much stuck her head out of her window.  She said something to me but I have no idea what it was.  I often come across other runners.  This time I came across one where I don’t usually — along route 33.  I think he was walking but started running when he saw that another runner was coming.  He waved.  I don’t like runners that don’t wave.

I also came along at least two phantom road kills.  A phantom road kill or PRK is a dead animal that you know is there but you can’t see.

This time I finally allowed myself to run an easy pace and not worry about speed.  I ran the 10.1 miles in a little more than 1:35.  That’s about a 9:30 pace.

On Friday I ran some distance at some pace.  I ran to the gym, did a workout, ran most of the way home, and then ran the 3 mile loop.  I really don’t know what the distance was.  It was probably less than 4 miles.  I don’t know how long it took because I intentionally didn’t turn on my stop watch.

Tonight I’m hoping to run the Rowe Half.  It’s overcast right now which could make for a comfy run.  This will be my last long run before the Corporate Challenge.  I will be starting a new marathon training plan in the next 2 weeks or less.

Leave a Reply

