Let the Training Begin

This week I started training for the 2007 Rochester Marathon.  I should have started 3 weeks prior but Cassie had other plans for me.

Once again I’m going to roughly follow a training plan generated by the “smart coach” on runnersworld.com.  I like to follow the distances but ignore the pacing information.  I like the plan because it calls for 3 days of running each week.  That makes it possible (though still difficult) for me to keep up with weight training.

This week called for 6 mile run, a 5 mile run, and a 10 mile long run.  I ran a 6.2 mile run, a 6.5 mile run, and an 8 mile run instead.  Read on for the details… On Monday I tried to run the 3 mile loop twice (6.2 miles total).  It was 88 in the shade and I had an extremely difficult time with it.  I brought water with me but it wasn’t enough.  I knew that I wasn’t doing well and I had to walk.  I walked a lot.  I even modified the route a bit to get to more shade.  When there was shade I walked and when I was in sunny sections I ran.  Amazingly I finished the run in 57:12, a 9:30 pace.

On Wednesday I ran the Rowe Quarter.  It was a beautiful evening for running.  It was around 70 degrees and slightly windy.  I felt great so I pushed myself to run fairly quickly.  I ended up finishing the run in 55:47, an 8:35 pace!  I’ve run this route faster but this was still a great run!

On Friday I ran with John again.  First we did a light shoulder, tricep, and ab workout.  Then we drove over to the canal path for an 8 mile run.  That was the first time that I ran on the canal path and I must say that I LOVE IT!  It’s pretty, it’s flat, the road is in great shape, there are lots of people, and it’s easy to get to.

We ran from Henrietta to Pittsford and back.  John had called our fan club and they were waiting for us in Pittsford.  There were hundreds of people along the canal there.  One family was walking along and we passed their two little girls.  They said “ewww!” when we ran by.  I’m pretty sure they were talking about John — he’s gross.   John has a GPS watch now so we knew when to turn around.  When were were about .5 miles to the finish we picked up the pace because we felt good.  We finished a little more than 8 miles in 1:13:06, a 9:05 pace.

I really like running with a partner.  John and I will likely run more long runs together.  He’s considering running the full Rochester Marathon this fall instead of the half.  I think he should.

Leave a Reply

