Flush It Homey

Although I haven’t been posting much lately I’ve still been running.  I’ve been too busy to get posts written and I’m not finally catching up.

On Tuesday July 17th I ran 2.65 miles with Corey through his neighborhood.  It’s a nice place to run since there are many paved paths through the development.  I used to live in that neighborhood but I wasn’t into running at that time.  I was supposed to run an easy 2 mile recovery run but we ended up running it pretty fast — a 9:07 pace.

On Wednesday July 18th I ran the Rowe Quarter.  My training plan called for a 6 mile tempo run.  I ran a moderately fast 6.5 miles.  It was humid and partly sunny.  The sun kept ducking behind clouds making it much easier to run.  By the end of the run the sun was low in the sky so it wasn’t a factor anymore.  I finished the 6.5 miles in 57:06, an 8:48 pace.

Today, Saturday July 21st John and I went to Fleet Feet at about 8 AM for a group long run.  It turns out that most of the group was running 12 miles and we wanted to run 16.  We opted to run the same 12 mile course they were running and tack on a 4.3 mile course on the end of that.  When we started out the group had left one or two minutes ahead of us.  Then I had to pee.  Grrrr, I hate having to pee while running.  We were running in downtown Rochester so it wasn’t convenient to just step off the side of the road.  We came to a McDonalds so I ran inside (literally) and peed very quickly.  On the wall it said “flush it homey.”  Because of the writing on the wall I flushed and headed back out.  We lost no more than 1 and a half minutes.

The 12 mile course led us to the liberty pole and then out along East Ave and through Highland Ave.   Highland has some rather challenging hills and John and I were feeling them.  We continued on and made it back the Fleet Feet after about 2 hours.  That however wasn’t the end of our run.  We still had another 4.3 miles to go.

We headed out along the 4.3 mile “happy hour” course.  This course was a very poor choice to complete our 16 mile long run.  This course led us to Cobbs Hill Road which is quite steep.  We were already tired from running more than 13 miles and the hill on this road wasn’t helpful.  After conquering that hill we ended up back on the challenging hill on Highland Ave!

At this point John and I were both tired but we weren’t far from finishing so we pushed on.  I got a bit of a second (or third of fourth) wind and I pushed us a bit to go faster.  I hope that I didn’t scare John away from running the full Rochester Marathon today!  After 2 hours 42 minutes and 2 seconds we arrived back at Fleet Feet (9:57 average pace).  We conquered unknown courses and a rather long distance and did, in my opinion at least, a good job in doing so.  Our final mile was actually one of our fastest!

This coming week I’m going to run 2.2 miles on Sunday, 6.5-7.0 miles on Tuesday, and 18 miles on Sunday.  Hopefully John and I can run together on Sunday because I don’t particularly want to run 18 miles alone.  I will if I have to but I don’t want to.  I’m scheduling a long gap (Thursday-Saturday) with no running to give my shins a good long time to heal.  They didn’t bother me much today but I want them to be normal.

Leave a Reply

