Hey, squirt me!

Last night, August 2nd, I ran the Rowe Quarter. I started later in the evening than usual. That’s a good thing too because it was still 88 degrees outside at 7:15. Because of the heat I wore my Fuel Belt. I don’t normally do that for a 6.5 mile run. I packed 4 bottles of water, 2 for drinking and 2 for pouring on myself.

I started out feeling very good and I was running rather fast. I became tired extremely quickly, before the fourth mile for sure. Pouring water on myself helped but it didn’t cool me down enough to be refreshing. I can only imagine how hard it would have been without the water.

There wasn’t anything interesting to see last night, possibly because I was focused on the heat and my running. Towards the end as the temperature dropped and the sun set further in the sky I felt capable of running a bit faster.  In the last 2 tenths of a mile I came across some kids playing with a garden house near the street.  I ran near them and yelled “hey, squirt me!”  They did, they laughed, and I was refreshed.

Overall it took me 57:19, an average pace of 8:50. Considering the heat I’m extremely happy with that time. I was trying to run “comfortably fast” as my training plan called for a tempo run.

On Tuesday, July 31st, Corey and I ran the short loop at his house. It’s a windy 2.62 mile journey through the walking paths and streets of his neighborhood. It was scheduled as an easy run. It was hot but not unbearable at 85 degrees. We completed that loop in 25:06, a 9:35 average pace. At the end of that run Corey sprinted to the finish so I tried to keep pace with him. That may have been a mistake as I felt pain in my shins after the run. I took ibuprofen and iced my shins and they felt OK on my Thursday night run so I guess I didn’t do any real harm on Tuesday.

On Sunday John and I are going to run 20+ miles. We’re hoping to make it to 21 miles but we’ll see how the run goes. We’re going to run the Rowe Quarter 3 times and add an extra loop or two at the beginning and end.

Next week is an easy week. The training plan calls for three easy paced 7 mile runs. Corey may join me for one of those runs. I’ll be running at least one of the other 7 milers with John.

Leave a Reply

