3 Days and Counting

Tonight was the end of my training. I have no more runs and I’m not going to do any weight training until after the race. During my easy three miler I was thinking about finishing my first marathon. There’s no better way to say it than in the words of the great Dee Snider (of Twisted Sister)

“How long I have wanted
This dream to come true
And as it approaches
I can’t believe I’m through”

Of course this song has nothing to do with running marathons but that’s the beauty of song lyrics; everyone twists them to mean whatever they want them to mean. When I finished my first marathon this past January I wasn’t elated but disappointed. I was sad that it was over because it was such a huge challenge. The feeling passed as I realized that it would still be a challenge to run another marathon.

Here I am, with 3 days to go… Will I feel disappointed at the finish line again?

p.s. I finished the 3.2 miles in 28:17, an 8:51 pace. I tried very hard to go easy and I still broke a 9!

Leave a Reply

