Some Like it Hot, I'm One of Them

Tuesday night I attempted to run 5 miles on the treadmill but it was not to be.  I was plagued with a headache, treadmills with 30 minute time limits, and a madness inducing rattle on a treadmill, and finally intestinal issues. I was able to deal with all of the issues except for the last.  My 5 mile run was truncated to a 2.6 miles run coupled with a little bit of running to get home more quickly!  In the brief time that I was running it was actually a good run!  It felt great to be running and it felt great to not be freezing.

Last night I made a second attempt at a five mile run.  I considered running outside but the 20 degree temperature and the darkness stole my motivation.  Instead I packed up for the treadmill again.  This time I had no issues.  I selected a good treadmill from the start and my body cooperated with me.  The run was great!  I had lots of energy and I was into my music.  I’m sure I looked silly mouthing some words and throwing in the more than occasional air-guitar but I really don’t care.  When I’m into running and music nothing stops me from being a fool.  I ran pretty fast especially for a treadmill run.  I finished 5.1 miles in 42:55 which is about an 8:30 pace.

These runs taught me that I really like running in warm weather.  Sometimes the weather can trump my desire for running on the road.  The treadmill isn’t so bad.  At least I’m warm!

Leave a Reply

