It's Hard to Stay Positive

I really have to hand it to runners that are able to stay positive through a stress fracture.  I try to be positive but I’m failing at it.  I’ve tried biking and it’s OK.  It’s better than nothing.  Swimming isn’t going terribly well.  People assure me that it’s “going to click” anytime now but I can’t help but doubt that.

And what is it about humans and making things worse?  I’ve been quite knowingly doing things that aren’t good for me but doing them anyhow.  For example I haven’t been eating right.  Eating comfort foods is a common way to deal with stress.  I’ve been doing that.  I haven’t been getting enough sleep.  I’ve skipped some bike rides or cut them shorter than I should.  I seem to be intentionally sabotaging myself.  It’s easy to explain comfort foods — they give you pleasure.  But the other behaviors don’t really give you pleasure or very little.  Perhaps I’m trying to make matters worse so that I can hit “rock bottom?”  The funny part is that none of this is serious!  I’ll recover from my injury.  I’m making a mountain out of a mole hill.  Missing running isn’t serious, not really, but it feels like it is.  Maybe someone with a real problem can come by and smack me.

Leave a Reply

