21.5 Miles Of Awesomness

Reading about training is boring unless the athlete is at the elite level.  I am not.  Thus, this post is boring.  I must post it for myself to look back on however.  You, if there is a you and I’m not the only reader here, can skip over this.

On Sunday I went to the Y for a long run.  It was in the 20s and windy.  I’ve learned over the years that I really can enjoy running on the treadmill and when the weather gets to a certain point the treadmill is the right choice.

This was my first run at the Y.  I approached some women that appeared to be regulars and asked if there was a good reason to choose one bank of treadmills over another.  They said that the ones they were on feel more stable than the others and the stable ones have TVs on them.  So I joined them.

I thought my own TV would be a great idea.  It wasn’t.  It was less than 2 feet from my face and because I was running it appeared to be bouncing all over the place.  I turned it off completely within 2 minutes of starting my run to avoid getting motion sickness!  For the next two hours and forty-eight minutes I had a blank TV screen blocking my view.  I tended to look forward but to the left and right watching the TVs on the treadmills in the row in front of me.

I felt great before, during, and after the run.  I planned on 20 miles but I felt so good and I was loving my music so much that I decided to add just one more mile.  But when that mile ended I didn’t want to stop listening to my music so I rounded it up to the next whole mile on the display.  But then again I still didn’t want to stop listening to the music so I went for another quarter mile.  When it was all done I ran just over 21.5 miles and I loved almost every step.

Leave a Reply

