It's Just Not The Same

On my nearly hypothermic run yesterday I tried to recite a new mantra: “Boston won’t requalify for itself.”  That just doesn’t work every well.  I need a new mantra.

I won’t lie.  I’m a little disappointed with my running lately.  My runs are much slower than I want.  I’m pleased with my mileage and my health (no pain!) but things are just slower than I’d like.  Comparing my training log from 2009 to now is a lessen in sadness.

I want to be better but I don’t have the focus that I did in 2009.  In 2009 Boston was my focal point. Yes, I could focus on three hours but, honestly, the pull for that achievement isn’t the same to me.

Leave a Reply

