2010

I told myself I wouldn’t do a 2010 recap post but the urge is too irresistible.  2009 was an incredible year for me for running.  Improvements came easily, I ran a lot, and I BQed.  But I also suffered a lot in 2009 both in and outside of running.

2010, taken as a whole, has been disappointing for me.  No PRs.  Very few races.  Lackluster training.  I spent most of the year thinking about how much better I was doing in 2009!  I had the stress fracture in the spring that sidelined me for months.  Coming back from the stress fracture wasn’t as easy as I thought it would be.  I had to work to get back to where I was prior. My “comeback” race was 3 minutes slower than I had hoped for.

But the last two or three months have been good.  I’ve worked my mileage up to levels that are higher than I was doing in 2009 (between 60 and 70 miles per week).  I started running with GVH and thus have been doing some real workouts.  I even kept up the workouts when GVH didn’t meet.

For everything other than running 2010 has been better than 2009 and I wouldn’t trade it.

With the training I’ve been doing, and plan to continue doing, I expect 2011 to be much better.  Maybe it’ll best 2009.  I’ll just have to wait and see.

Leave a Reply

