Health Markers

Many runners feel somewhat invincible.  I’ve certainly felt that way.  I’ve gone to the doctor and they rave about how good my blood work is and urge me to keep doing what I’m doing.  One doctor even told me he gets tired of seeing unhealthy people that ask “how do I fix it” when he feels the answer is “it’s too late.”  For the record, I disagree with his opinion there.  The body seems to be incredible with adaptation and change …  but then I’m not a doctor.

Runners tend to have high levels of HDL which is why doctors, like mine, rave about our blood work.  But having high levels of HDL doesn’t necessarily mean you aren’t at risk for heart disease.

Leave a Reply

