2014 Spring Forward 15k

7 years ago I ran my first marathon.  Shortly after that marathon I ran a local 15k.  For each year since then I’ve run this 15k.  This year I managed my best time on this course!

This race almost did not happen.  I lined up a babysitter, my Mom, for the wrong weekend.  She alerted me to the fact that I had the day wrong.  We made it to the race just fine and the weather was good.  I was ready to work hard.  As Amber and I were killing time before my warm-up I heard an announcement that the race would be starting at 8 AM.  I looked at my watch.  It was 7:50…I thought the race started at 8:30!  With a quick goodbye kiss and some gel my warm-up became a moderately paced run from the lodge to the starting line.

I had difficult choosing the right attire.  It was cool but not too cold.  Upon arrival I made the decision not to wear tights and stripped in the car.  I made the right choice.  I was very comfortable during the race.

The auto-lap function on the watch was bothering me because I couldn’t see specific mile splits as the splits never line up with the course and I had my music on loud enough that I could not hear the chime on the watch.  It was frustrating but in the end it didn’t matter.  Running as fast as I could handle was what mattered.  I picked out athletes in the distance and worked towards passing them.  In the end I was able to pass them but it took me more than 4 miles which is a very large portion of the race!

This was my second fastest 15k and the fastest I’ve run this challenging course.  In prior years I’ve had issues with numb feet and pains in my side.  This year I had no issues.  It felt good to do well.  At the finish it felt good to see people who genuinely wanted to see me happy.

 

Splits:
1 6:40
2 7:02
3 6:42
4 6:52
5 6:42
6 6:53
7 6:45
8 6:44
9 6:27
remainder: 6:05

Leave a Reply

